Baby #2 · Pregnancy

20 Weeks with Baby #2

I don’t know why but 20 weeks feels huge to me. I know we still have a long way to go but being half way towards meeting our newest babe is fun. It also makes me feel super behind. By this time with Beckett we had his name picked out, had completed the addition of board and batten in his room, painted and had ordered furniture. The theme for his room was a no-brainer for me, as I knew before we even found out he was a boy that I wanted a nautical theme so we had tons of decor ready to go as well. This time, we have nothing. No name, no theme, no furniture, no color scheme. Nothing.

We’ve gone back and forth over if we want to put this baby in Beckett’s current room and move B to one of our larger rooms or if we want to leave Beckett where he is (the thought of moving him out of his nursery that we put SO MUCH love into designing just for him breaks my momma heart) and putting the new baby in a different room. I’ve even tried to talk Joey into putting them in the same room (moving them to the largest room) but he’s not on board with that because we have room for them to have individual rooms so why make them share? I get it. Honestly, if the baby were a girl it would be an easy decision for me because I’ve always pictured the front bedroom of our house (currently used as our playroom) as a sweet girly room. We’ll figure it out eventually. Except the name. He may not have a name until he’s born. I never understood why parents couldn’t decide on a name before the baby came but I get it now. We have a list of names (Joey has one name he loves and will not give it up) but I’m just not feeling any of them as a perfect fit in our family. So frustrating.

Moving on.. I’ve always enjoyed reading about other people’s pregnancies so I thought I’d give this a shot. I don’t know how often I’ll do these but I can assure you it won’t be every week (or every other week for that matter). Maybe every 4 or 5 weeks? Who knows.. we’ll see.

How Far Along? 20 weeks
Size of Baby: About 8.5 oz
Weight Gain: Since I lost quite a bit the first 15 or so weeks, I’m not sure how to really measure this. I’m probably slightly over my pre-pregnancy weight by a pound or 2 by now.
Maternity Clothes: I love maternity clothes (so comfy and soft!) so even though most of my regular clothes still fit, some things just aren’t as flattering on a baby bump so I’ve been sticking mainly to maternity clothes. Jessica Simpson jeans are my all time favorite and Target always has cute tops!
Stretch marks: None so far. I didn’t really get them with Beckett so I’m hoping they will stay away this time too. I do need to start using some stretch mark cream ASAP though!
Symptoms: Since week 15, I’ve been great! I can’t say that I was “sick” up until then but I never had an appetite and had that all day queasy feeling. I only actually threw up a couple of times so I consider myself very lucky!
Cravings: Nothing weird. Sometimes I do get a craving for a certain food but who doesn’t after you see a commercial for something that looks really good?!
Gender: BOY! We go to my actual doctor tomorrow for the big 20 week scan so we’ll have more peace of mind knowing for sure then.
Nursery: I think I addressed this above.
Movement: Yes! Not constant movement yet but I can say for sure that I’ve felt him flipping around a few times this week. I LOVE feeling the movement. It’s really the best part.
Sleep: Not terrible but not great. I’ve had a couple of nights where I woke up hours before I had to be up and just couldn’t go back to sleep for the life of me.
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Certain smells make me queasy occasionally and I can’t stand the thought of Chick-fil-A nuggets (can eat the sandwich though) which were my go to meal 2-3 times a week before I got pregnant since CFA is right across from my office.
Best Moment This Week: Knowing for sure that what I was feeling was him moving.
Looking Forward To: Checking in on baby tomorrow to make sure all is well! 🙂

 

 

One thought on “20 Weeks with Baby #2

  1. I had to laugh at your craving comment – I felt the same way! There were always things I wanted or that sounded delicious, but… that wasn’t any different from when I wasn’t pregnant! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

