Beckett · Family · Holiday

Weekend Recap – Thanksgiving Edition

What a whirlwind of a weekend! I had 5 days off but we were busy busy the entire time to the point where it almost wasn’t that enjoyable. We were able to split time pretty evenly with our three dinners thanks to one of them being on Wednesday so that was really nice. Beckett got to play with lots of kiddos and really enjoyed himself.

First up on Thursday we headed to my cousin’s house for lunch with my dad’s side of the family. We ate some really yummy food and some of the adults played a really fun game of Cards Against Humanity while the kids played outside. We had a great time with this fun group!

Kestner
All the cousins on my dad’s side of the family. There are 9 of us (I’m the oldest) and 1 great-grandchild, Beckett. Fun fact: Kacey and I are the only two who are only children on the Kestner side (our dads are brothers; we each have a sibling on our mom’s sides). Our uncle has 3 kids and our aunt has 4.
KHBHBLJL
We love spending time with Kacey and Bryan! They are great hosts.
Dad and B
Dad got Beckett a really awesome book and I looked over and they were just leaning against the wall reading it. So cute!

We left there and headed to my Mom’s house for dinner with her side of the family.

B napping
Beckett was passed out for a good while at Mom’s. He needed the rest before the other kids showed up.
Lewis Fam
Love B’s sweet face in this one!
Me and Joey
Always thankful for this guy!
Alexander
The whole crew at Mom’s. On this side of the family there are 4 grand kids (I’m the only girl and used to be the youngest until my brother came along) and 4 great-grandchildren.
Little boys
These three loved playing together!
J and B
Jacob and Beckett are really close in age so they had a great time!
Baby boys
We were trying to do family pictures and these two just sat on the steps and let everyone snap away at them. So cute!
Boys with T
The boys LOVE my brother!
B on Ts back
Beckett LOVES his Uncle T!
B and T
Just look at that face! I imagine he’s thinking, I have my Uncle T and you can’t get him.

On Friday Joey worked so Beckett and I hung out and had lunch with my mom. When he got off, we left B with Mom and headed to Toys-r-Us. We racked up for Beckett and can’t wait to see how excited he’ll be when he sees all his stuff this year. This is the second year in a row that we’ve gone shopping on Black Friday late in the evening and still came home with exactly what we went for (+ more). No thank you to getting up early and trying to fight crowds! That night we went to see the Speedway in Lights with my family and though B was tired by the time we actually got in, I think he really enjoyed it.

Saturday morning we got up early and headed to breakfast with Santa. We loved doing this last year and are so thankful that our friends had extra seats reserved this year and invited us to go with them. It’s a fun way for kids to get to see and interact with Santa instead of just standing in line and being tossed on his lap  for a quick picture. It’s not rushed and we were able to enjoy pancakes while watching other kids visit with Santa before we took our turn.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Beckett wasn’t into Santa but he didn’t cry (just no smiles) so that’s a win in my book!
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Beckett and Reagan always have fun together. Taking the ornaments off the tree was their favorite part of the morning.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Terrible family picture but it’s here for documentation.

Sunday was spent adding a little more Christmas cheer to our home. We’ve had our tree and some outdoor decor up for a few weeks now but the tree wasn’t decorated and the outside was just missing something. I made some bows that we added to the window swags and outdoor trees and we finally decorated our tree inside. For the first time ever, I didn’t decorate with blue and I’m not mad about it one bit! 🙂 We also put up Beckett’s Christmas train set around our tree and he has never been more excited about anything in his short little life! He was glowing, jumping, screaming, and dancing when we turned it on for the first time. It was the sweetest!!

Now that Thanksgiving is over, I’m counting down the days until the Christmas party that I host for my girlfriends and my 16 day break from work! Bring on all things Christmas!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

